top of page
virginia is for lovers.webp
virginia commision for the arts.webp
heart of appalachia.webp
town logo.webp

About Lee County, Virginia

The southwestern-most County in the Commonwealth of Virginia, bordered on the south by Tennessee and on the north and west by Kentucky, Lee County has three incorporated towns: Pennington Gap, St. Charles and the County seat of Jonesville.

Lee County was formed in 1792 from Russell County and is named in honor of General Henry “Light Horse Harry” Lee, a Revolutionary War soldier and the Governor of Virginia at the time the county was formed.

bottom of page